1886, the Scots farmers working in the district established their own
church using the local blacksmith’s shop in Station Road. This was
replaced in 1887 by a new Congregational Church, later to become the
United Reformed Church in 1973. Trinity Church,
Methodist/URC situated in Park Lane
was formed by uniting the former Knebworth
Methodist and Knebworth United Reformed Churches in 1996. The present building
was extended and refurbished in 2000.
the late 19th century, Knebworth had expanded, mainly due to
the proximity of the Great North Road, and the opening of Knebworth
railway station in 1884. A new community grew up and became New
Knebworth, (the ‘New’ has since been dropped), whilst the original
community around Knebworth House and the Parish Church became Old
Knebworth. The A1(M) completed in 1962, now allows traffic to by-pass
new church (St.
Martin's) designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens, a brother-in-law of
Lord Lytton, was built in New Knebworth and was consecrated by the
Bishop of St. Albans in November 1915. An extension was completed in
boasts 3 inns:- The Roebuck at Broadwater is the eldest, possibly dating
back to 1420; the Lytton Arms, Old Knebworth, circa 1840, (the present
building was erected in 1887), and the Station Hotel built in 1883.
than 70 clubs and organisations are listed in the current Knebworth
Directory, and there is a wide variety of shops and businesses centred
around the main London - Stevenage Road.